
MBBS in Georgia: Fees, Recognition and the Honest Picture
A six-year English-taught MD, fees by university, and what India's NMC rules and Georgia's own licensing law mean for you before you apply.
MBBS in Georgia is a six-year, English-taught Doctor of Medicine (MD) program that costs about $5,900–8,000 a year at the main universities. Georgia's Ministry of Education describes the MD as equal to an MBBS, but whether your degree lets you practice at home depends on your own country's regulator, not on Georgia.
That second point surprises most applicants. India's National Medical Commission (NMC) has strict rules for foreign medical graduates, and Georgia's own law limits what a graduate can do there without the Georgian language. Below: fees by university, accreditation, the India question and the admission route. For the wider picture, see our guide to studying in Georgia.
How the MD program in Georgia works
Medicine in Georgia is a one-cycle MD program: 6 years and 360 ECTS, with the internship built into the 6th year. There is no separate 12-month internship after graduation in the Georgian system. Clinical rotations take up the last 3 semesters, and the 6th year is fully clinical.
MD programs are accredited or authorized by Georgia's National Center for Educational Quality Enhancement (NCEQE). Before you apply, check that the university has a valid NCEQE decision for the exact program you want.
In the clinic, foreign students have the same rights as Georgian students. You can examine patients and carry out some procedures under a teacher's supervision and with the patient's consent.
Teaching is in English, but patients speak Georgian. According to the Ministry of Education, universities include Georgian language courses in the curriculum so students can talk to patients. The level each university expects differs, so ask the admissions office directly.
MBBS in Georgia fees by university
Tuition for English-taught medicine at the main Tbilisi universities ranges from about $5,900 to $8,000 a year. The figures below are the fees currently published on university websites. Universities have not yet published next year's price lists, and most pages do not state the academic year.
| University | Type | MD in English, per year | Dentistry in English, per year | Price list year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
State | $8,000 | $7,000 | Not stated (website) | |
Private | $6,500 | $6,000 | Not stated (website) | |
Private |
TSMU also runs an American MD track at $13,500 a year. TSU lists its English-language medicine program at $8,000 a year and notes that tuition is set anew each academic year.
Over six years, tuition alone adds up to roughly $35,400 (SEU), $35,700 (Alte), $39,000 (UG) and $48,000 (TSMU), assuming fees stay the same. For living costs, Numbeo puts expenses for one person in Tbilisi at about 1,730 GEL a month without rent, at an average expat level; students in shared rooms or dorms usually spend less. See the full breakdown on our cost of studying in Georgia page.
MD fees in Georgia by program
USD per year, current fees on university websites
- American MD, TSMU$13,500
- English MD, TSMU$8,000
- English MD, TSU$8,000
- English MD, University of Georgia$6,500
- English MD, Alte University$5,950
- English MD, SEU$5,900
Accreditation: what WFME recognition really means
Georgia's accrediting agency, NCEQE, is recognized by the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME). WFME recognizes agencies, not individual universities. So the correct statement is "Georgia's accreditor is WFME-recognized," not "this university is WFME-approved." The WHO does not recognize diplomas at all, so treat "WHO-recognized university" claims with caution.
NCEQE received WFME recognition in 2018 for 10 years, until November 2028. A student starting now will graduate after that. Renewal is a future decision, and no one can guarantee it today.
This matters for the USMLE and ECFMG route in the United States, which looks at whether your program is accredited by a WFME-recognized agency. Choose a program with a valid NCEQE accreditation decision on eqe.ge, and check the university's listing in the World Directory of Medical Schools (WDOMS) before you apply.
Is MBBS in Georgia valid in India?
Only the NMC can decide whether a foreign degree qualifies you to register in India. Georgia's Ministry of Education stated on 9 August 2024 that its MD equals an MBBS and that medical education in Georgia complies with the new NMC rules. That is the Georgian side's position, not an NMC decision. The NMC does not publish a list of approved foreign universities.
Under the NMC's Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations 2021 (FMGL 2021), you need:
Key NMC FMGL 2021 conditions
- a course of at least 54 months plus 12 months of internship at the same university;
- teaching in English;
- the whole course in one country and one university;
Two points need attention in Georgia's case. First, the internship sits inside the six-year MD rather than after it, so ask how the university documents it. Second, a Georgian graduate becomes a junior doctor, not an independent practitioner (see below). Only the NMC interprets how these fit its rules.
NMC rules also require Indian citizens and OCIs who study medicine abroad to qualify NEET. A Georgian university may admit you without NEET, but NMC requires it for later registration in India. The embassy in India also lists NEET for MBBS visa applicants.
According to press reports of an NMC advisory dated 27 November 2024, any deviation in duration, language, curriculum, clinical training or internship may lead to refusal of registration in India. Check the latest NMC notices before you sign anything.
Pakistan's PM&DC requires the university to appear in the ECFMG/WDOMS lists and an MDCAT score of at least 50%. For Nigeria, Egypt and other countries, confirm the rules with your home medical regulator before applying.
Admission and visa route
International students enter Georgian universities without Georgian national exams. The route runs through the university, NCEQE and the Ministry of Education. Plan to start 2–3 months before the semester begins, because recognition alone can take up to a month. Full details are on our admission requirements page.
How to enroll in an MD program in Georgia
Choose a university and program — confirm the NCEQE accreditation, WDOMS listing and the fee for your intake.
Get the university's consent — the rector's written consent is needed for enrollment without national exams.
Legalize your documents — India and Pakistan use the apostille (India: MEA apostille on all education documents); Nigeria, Egypt, the UAE, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman need consular legalization.
Recognition of your school certificate by NCEQE — NCEQE checks that it is genuine and matches Georgian standards. Fees: 40 GEL (1 month), 80 GEL (15 working days), 120 GEL (5 working days) or 250 GEL (1 working day). All foreign documents need a notarized Georgian translation.
Ministry of Education order — NCEQE passes your file to the Ministry, the minister issues an enrollment order, and the university enrolls you.
Citizens of India, Pakistan, Nigeria and Egypt need a D3 visa. The embassy checklist in India includes the Ministry of Education order, the university's enrollment order, NEET for MBBS, proof of accommodation, proof of funds and insurance for the whole visa period. The D3 is issued for 90 days, which is why the residence permit step follows soon after arrival.
GCC citizens enter Georgia visa-free for one year. Indians and Pakistanis living in the UAE with a valid residence visa can enter visa-free for 90 days in any 180, but the Georgian embassy in the UAE still issues study visas with its own extra requirements. See our Georgia student visa guide for the full checklist.
What to know before you apply
Other agencies tend to skip these points. Each has a practical answer if you know it early.
Risks and how to handle them
- Independent practice in Georgia requires Georgian. After the MD, graduates become junior doctors without extra exams. A junior doctor works under an independent doctor's responsibility and has no right to independent practice, except in emergencies. To practice independently, you need a post-diploma exam, residency and a state certification exam. The law makes knowledge of Georgian mandatory for independent practice, and all residency programs at TSMU are taught only in Georgian. What to do: plan your license at home or in a third country from day one.
- Nationality is not the barrier; language is. The law gives foreigners the same right to a license as Georgians.
- WFME recognition of NCEQE runs to November 2028. Your graduation will come later. What to do: check the recognition status each year and keep your WDOMS and NCEQE documents on file.
IELTS: the score you need and where you can skip it
Checked thresholds at universities across nine destinations, accepted alternatives, and the cases where no certificate is needed.
- A table of thresholds at 20 universities: bachelor's, master's, medicine
- Where the university's own English exam replaces IELTS
- TOEFL, PTE, Duolingo, MUET: what counts
- Five mistakes that force a retake
Not sure whether a Georgian MD fits your plans at home? Book a free consultation with AcademGo. We will check your eligibility, compare the programs above for your country's licensing rules, and map the document and visa steps for your intake. Write to us via the form, WhatsApp or Telegram on our contacts page.

